Department of Anthropology Faculty

Our faculty research and teach about human evolution and ecology; race and human variation; health and demography; gender, sexuality, ethnicity, nationalism, and indigeneity; social interaction, inequality, and the creation of local and global structures of domination and resistance.


Christopher J. Bae

Professor
Office: Dean 211
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7353
Email: cjbae@hawaii.edu
Paleoanthropology, Eastern Asia

James M. Bayman

Professor, Undergraduate Chair
Office: Dean 205
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8511
Email: jbayman@hawaii.edu
Archaeology, Culture Contact, Colonialism

Jan Brunson

Associate Professor, Graduate Chair
Office: Saunders 309
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-2007
Email: jbrunson@hawaii.edu
Medical Anthropology, Women's Health, Nepal

Alex Golub

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 313
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6575
Email: golub@hawaii.edu
Cultural Anthropology, Pacific, Politics

Patrick V. Kirch

Professor
Office: Dean 101/A
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3366
Email: kirch@hawaii.edu
Archaeology, Historical Anthropology, Polynesia

Jonathan Padwe

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 317
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-2707
Email: padwe@hawaii.edu
Environmental Anthropology, Southeast Asia

Christian E. Peterson

Associate Professor, Department Chair
Office: Dean 204
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8460
Email: cepeter@hawaii.edu
Regional Analysis, Household Archaeology, China

Seth Quintus

Assistant Professor
Office: Dean 201
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-9820
Email: squintus@hawaii.edu
Environmental Archaeology, Agriculture, Oceania

Barry V. Rolett

Professor
Office: Saunders 304
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7546
Email: rolett@hawaii.edu
Archaeology, Polynesia, China

Eirik Saethre

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 306
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3995
Email: saethre@hawaii.edu
Sociocultural and Medical Anthropology

Ann Sakaguchi

Specialist
Office: Saunders 336
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8454
Email: annsakag@hawaii.edu
Disaster Management, Public Health

Miriam Stark

Professor
Office: Dean 203C
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7552
Email: miriams@hawaii.edu
Archaeology, Material Culture, Southeast Asia

Ty Kawika P. Tengan

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 314
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7831
Email: ttengan@hawaii.edu
Indigeneity, Masculinity, Hawaiʻi

Christine Yano

Professor
Office: Saunders 322
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-4447
Email: cryano@hawaii.edu
Popular Culture, Japan, Japanese Americans


Emeritus Faculty

Jack Bilmes (bilmes@hawaii.edu)

Ling. Anthro., Occasioned Semantics, Discourse

Michael Pietrusewsky

Bioarchaeology, Biodistance, Asia & Pacific

Leslie Sponsel (sponsel@hawaii.edu)

Spiritual Ecology, Buddhist Ecology

Geoffrey White

Ethnography, War Memory, Oceania, France

Additional emeriti:

  • Stephen T. Boggs
  • Michael W. Graves
  • P. Bion Griffin
  • Alan Howard
  • Terry L. Hunt

Emeriti Faculty - In Memoriam

  • Andrew R. Arno (PhD, Harvard University, 1974) - Legal Anthropology, Ethnography of Communication, Kinship and Social Organization, Pacific
  • C. Fred Blake (PhD, University of Illinois, 1975) - Critical and Interpretive Theory, Ethnography and Biography, Popular Ideologies, Social Movements and Entrepreneurship in the Modern World Economy, China, U.S.
  • Alice G. Dewey (PhD, Radcliffe College, 1959) - Economic, Kinship, Javanese Conceptual Frameworks, Southeast Asia, Pacific
  • Nina L. Etkin (PhD, University of Washington, 1975) - Biological and Medical Anthropology, Ethnobotany, Diet, Ethnopharmacology, CAM, West Africa, Pacific, Indonesia
  • Ben R. Finney (PhD, Harvard University, 1964) - Polynesian Voyaging, Humanity in Space, Contemporary Pacific
  • Takie S. Lebra (PhD, University of Pittsburgh, 1967) - Culture and Self, Communication, Gender, Career, Elite, Japan